September 07, 2021

PVL players to compete in AVC Women's Club Championship

Two women's teams will be representing the country in the upcoming 2021 Asian Women's Club Volleyball Championship in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand.

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation announced the composition of the teams, namely Rebisco and Choco Mucho, after consultation with Brazilian consultant-coach Jorge Edson Souza de Brito and national team coaches Odjie Mamon and recommended by National Team Commission chairman Tonyboy Liao.

The teams' composition was unanimously approved by the PNVF board.

Team Rebisco will have pro players Jema Galanza of Creamline, Chery Tiggo's Dindin Santiago-Manabat, PLDT's Rhea Dimaculangan, and F2 Logistics' Aby Marano, along with college student-athletes Eya Laure, Faith Nisperos, Mhicaela Belen, Imee Hernandez, Ivy Lacsina, Kamille Cal, and Rhea Dimaculangan.

On the other hand, Team Choco Mucho will be composed of Choco Mucho's Kat Tolentino and Deanna Wong; Sta. Lucia's MJ Phillips and Dell Palomata; Chery Tiggo's Mylene Paat; Petro Gazz's Ria Meneses; F2 Logistics' Kalei Mau, Kim Dy, Majoy Baron, Tin Tiamzon, and Dawn Macandili; and Iris Tolenada.

PNVF President Ramon 'Tats' Suzara, National Team Commission head Tonyboy Liao, Secretary-General Don Caringal, and Deputy Secretary-General for International Affairs Ricky Palou have been monitoring the teams' semi-bubble training at the Aquamarine Gym in Lipa City.

The women's teams are leaving for Nakhon Ratchasima on September 27 in time for the tournament set from October 1 to 7.