August 06, 2022

PNVF unveils National Team roster for PVL Invitationals

The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) on Saturday announced a young 14-member team that will see action in the 2022 Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference from August 8 to 14.

The team is composed of 12 players from National University--Ivy Lacsina, Mhicaela Belen, Shaira Jardio, Evangeline Alinsug, Cess Robles, Sheena Toring, Jen Nierva, Nicole Mata, Alyssa Solomon, Camilla Lamina, Kamille Cal and Joyme Cagande.

Completing the team are Jelai Gajero of California Precision Sports and Trisha Genesis of Akari.

The women's national team coaching staff led by Brazilian Jorge Edson Souza de Brito and assistant coaches Karl Dimaculangan and Cherry Macatangay picked the members after a series of tryouts and scouting. Also in the coaching staff are trainer Jerome Guhit and physical therapist Grace Gomez.

The nationals debut against Creamline on Monday at the SM Mall of Asia Arena.

The team is preparing for the AVC Cup for Women, which takes place from August 21 to 29 at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

Nine of the top Asian teams--with the Philippines as the 10th squad as host--are taking part in the tournament's seventh edition which was originally scheduled for 2020 but was canceled because of the coronavirus pandemic.

The Philippines is bracketed in Pool A with reigning champion China, South Korea, Iran, and Vietnam. Pool B is composed of 2018 runner-up Japan, Thailand, Kazakhstan, Chinese Taipei, and Australia.